Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Metals and alloying

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Scatter00x

Metals and alloying Empty
PostSubject: Metals and alloying   Metals and alloying Icon_minitimeMon Mar 30, 2009 5:49 am

Question for all... what do we want to do with metals in this server? One thing that's always bugged me, is that Rusty, Copper, Dull Copper, are all better materials than Iron... Being a metallurgist by trade, this causes me much pain. I want to, at the very least, reorder these materials, and I'm wondering if there are any we can do away with entirely... If I were to rank them in their current form, I would go:

Old Copper
Dull Copper
Copper
Rusty
Iron
etc....

Old Copper, Dull Copper, and Rusty straight up don't make sense to me. When you smelt the ore from the ground, you get the pure metal, not a corroded form of it. Should we nix these entirely? Or do we want to replace them with something that makes more sense? Another possibility (this would be slick) is to figure out how to set an age timer on iron and copper, so that as they age, they turn rusty and tarnished forms of copper, and have stats diminish with those changes as well. And if the armor/weapon isn't repaired within some time of that degradation, then it will simply disintegrate. I like this idea the best. Might be a bear to script, but I don't know, we'll have to see.